WIP IT

Young Women Leaders

Friday Thought: We accept the love we think we deserve

Image

(Photo cred: The “We Accept the Love We Think We Deserve” page on Facebook)
Last night I stayed up way too late
making a scarf and watching a movie called “The Perks of Being a Wallflower.” It´s about Charlie, a freshman in high school who is going through tough times and making new friends. I really recommend you watching it because it´s amovie about youth, friendship, growing up and the problems we face. The novel the movie is based on is written by Stephen Chbovsky

The quote that got to me the most was this: “We accept the love we think we deserve.” It´s said to Charlie by his English teacher when he asks why people stay with people that treat them badly. The quote got to me because I believe it´s accurate. So many times I have stayed with someone I think is good for me, but realized that the person doesn´t treat me right, doesn´t challenge me intellectually or doesn´t appreciate me for who I am.

And on the other side, I have left those that were probably the ones that would treat me right, who would love me for me and challenge me in different ways. I´m sure this is the trouble for many people, men and women, but as this blog is for and inspired by young women and their leadership, I will focus on them. When I was in college, I would see so many women (including myself) that were brilliant, smart, edgy, beautiful and caring having relationships with a partner that wasn´t there for them, physically or intellectually. They were giving their all to a partner that wasn´t there on so many levels.

I have seen women support and challenge their significant other in positive ways, just to see them getting close to nothing in return. Is it because we believe that we do not deserve better? I think so, we want so bad to make things work with a person that is just not worth our time or effort, that do not understand the amazingness of our inner self and the people that we are and what we can be.

Think about it today, We Accept The Love We Think We Deserve. And find that person that gives us the love we deserve.

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

