WIP IT

Young Women Leaders

Why I´m considering not having children

Besides from the fact that I´m not great with very little sleep, I´m not ready and poop is gross, I find it very hard to believe that I will be able to successfully both have a career and take care of my kids in the way that they need to be taken care of/the way I want to be able to be there for them.

I come from a country with relatively generous possibilities to stay at home for a while (both for women and men). This is great, and I am happy about it. But what I am afraid of is that I will stagnate in my work during the years of kids because I will be expected to work a lot and not be able to be home in the flexible way that I would like. Solution: find a stay-at-home dad? Not have kids? Right now, it seems like the latter is the best choice.

And then think about the countries where you´re supposed to pop out the baby and get back to work within a few days? Geezz, then I do (kind of) understand that one parents chooses to stay at home for an extended amount of time.

This is an important video and article, please watch and read:

http://www.theatlantic.com/magazine/archive/2012/07/why-women-still-cant-have-it-all/309020/

Single Post Navigation

Leave a Reply

